top of page

Writer's Blog

  • Writer's picturetimisawake

The First Step Forward

Don't just sit there. Don't just let your fingers do all the talking. I know it's hard, but it's also life. If we don't start, we'll never finish, or realize what happened.


One of the hardest things for me recently was letting go. Letting go of my past, letting go of my expectations, letting go of fear, of failure, of everything I ever let hold me back. Those simple excuses, we run by ourselves everyday that we justify why we're stuck where we are. "I can't get out of this mud" I tell myself. "I'm in too deep".


But what if I never discovered the steps infant of me, buried deeply in the mud. The steps I never took that would have helped my out of the deep, mirky firmament that is fertile ground. I know it's the hardest step to make, but taking the first step towards something new, or scary is the first step forward. And I need to remind myself, everyday, to take that first step, no matter how hard I make it for myself.


I've been struggling to find a place to write consistently. I hope this place works. Let me give it a try. My first post is my first step in trying. How'd I do?

1 view0 comments
bottom of page